2018 Gault & Millau - Les 100 meilleurs vignerons de Suisse

Every year, Swiss Wine Promotion in cooperation with the acclaimed Gault & Millau gastronomic guide, nominates the Swiss winemakers who produce exceptional wines and contribute to the promotion of Swiss wine quality in Switzerland and abroad.

Young winemakers (Rookies of the Year) who bring new and innovative ideas are recognized as well as the long established producers (Iconic Winemakers). In addition restaurants with the best Swiss wine menu are also recognized to highlight the importance of gastronomy for the wine industry.

For the fifth time in a row, the Gault & Millau guide and Swiss Wine Promotion have produced the TOP 100 Swiss best winegrowers ranking which attracts a great deal of interest from the general public and has become an established guide for end consumers wishing to learn about Swiss wines and discover more about the diversity of wine regions in Switzerland.

The professional jury, composed of personalities from the Swiss wine industry, gastronomy and wine journalism. It was once again led by the jury president Geny Hess in collaboration with Gilles Besse and Jacques Perrin (oenologists), Urs Mäder (wine consultant), Elsbeth Hobmeier (journalist specialized in wines and gastronomy), Paolo Basso (best world sommelier 2013), Guy Ravet (Gault & Millau star chef) and Ueli Kellenberger (Gault & Millau star chef).

The jury selected 100 winemakers, named new icons and rookies. The results will be published in the Gault & Millau official guide and in a pocket booklet. The jury is aware that this list is non exhaustive as many quality producers are not included since the number is purposely limited to 100.

 

The new winemakers who have integrated the TOP 100 list in 2018 are:

From Valais

  • Gilbert Devayes, Leytron
  • Olivier Mounir, Cave du Rhodan, Salquenen

From Graubünden

  • Matthias & Sina Gubler-Möhr, Möhr-Niggli Weine, Maienfeld
  • Annatina Pelizzatti, Jenins

From Ticino

  • Ralph Theiler, Theilervini SA, Bosco Luganese

 

Rookies of the Year 2018
Three young and innovative winemakers have been awarded the title of "Rookie of the Year 2018". These young winemakers come from all over the country.

In the canton of Aargau, this year's winner of the "Rookie of the Year" award is the winner of the Pirmin Umbricht (AG) who took over the family wine business in Untersiggenthal. He grows eleven different grape varieties on three hectares located on the southern slope of the Siggenberg.

The second distinction was won by Valentina Andrei de Saillon (VS). This oenologist who arrived from Romania in 2003 founded her winery in 2015, where she produces Gamay from Vieilles Vignes, Chasselas and Valais specialties, all are exceptional.

The third winner is Benjamin Morel of Valeyres-sur-Rances (VD), who represents the third generation of winemakers at Château de Valeyres. His quality wine range named "Confidentiel" has attracted the attention.

 

Iconic winemakers have had an impact in all wine regions
In each region, there are winegrowers who serve as reference and belong to the elite of the profession. Gault & Millau rewards them as icons. This year, two major personalities receive this important title:

  • Thomas Donatsch of Malans (GR)
  • Christian Zündel, of Beride (TI)

They join the existing hall of fame with Daniel-Martha Gantenbein of Fläsch (GR), Feliciano Gialdi of Mendrisio (TI), Marie-Thérèse Chappaz of Fully (VS), Louis-Philippe Bovard of Cully (VD), Jean-Pierre Pellegrin of Peissy-Satigny (GE), Jacques Tatasciore of Cressier (NE) and Axel & Jean-Francois Maye of Saint-Pierre-de-Clages (VS).

 

This year, the "Best Swiss Wine Menu" award goes to a restaurant in canton of Vaud
The Hermitage of Bernard Ravet in Vufflens-le-Château (VD) is one of the best gastronomic establishments in Switzerland. Its wine menu composed by the sommelier Nathalie Ravet is impressive with 754 wines, of which one third comes from Swiss vineyards it includes known names as well as hidden gems.

"Best Swiss wine menus" and "Best regional wine menus", are also awarded. The criteria required are the inclusion of regional and national wines as well as indigenous varieties from all Swiss wine regions. Also distinguished are wine cards that balance Swiss wines with foreign wines and offer a wide choice in terms of originality and creativity.

 

The Top 100 best winemakers 2018

 

Wallis / Valais / Vallese        
        
Alexandre Delétraz, Cave des Amandiers, 1913 Saillon, www.cavedesamandiers.ch
André Fontannaz, Cave La Madeleine, 1963 Vétroz, www.fontannaz.ch
Benoît Dorsaz, 1926 Fully, www.benoit-dorsaz.ch
Claudy Clavien, la Cave des Champs, 3972 Miège, www.claudy-clavien.ch
Clos de Tsampéhro, 3978 Flanthey, www.tsampehro.com
Daniel Magliocco & Fils, 1955 St-Pierre-de-Clages, www.maglioccovins.ch
Didier Joris, 1955 Chamoson, www.didierjoris.ch
Domaine de Rouvinez, 3960 Sierre, www.rouvinez.com
Domaine Jean-René Germanier, Balavaud, 1963 Vétroz, www.jrgermanier.ch
Familie Boven, Cave Ardévaz, 1955 Chamoson, www.boven.ch
Familie Papilloud, Cave du Vieux-Moulin, 1963 Vétroz, www.papilloud.com
Gérald Besse, Les Rappes, 1921 Martigny-Croi, www.besse.ch
Gilbert Devayes,    1912 Leytron, www.gilbertdevayes.ch
Histoire d’Enfer,    3960 Corin-sur-Sierre, www.histoiredenfer.ch
Jean-Claude Favre, Sélection Excelsus, 1955 Chamoson, www.selectionexcelsus.ch
Jean-Daniel Favre, Cave La Tornale, 1955 Chamoson, www.latornale.ch
Jérôme Favre, Cave d'Anchettes,    3973 Venthône, www.lesvinsduvalais.ch
Kellerei Chanton, 3930 Visp, www.chanton.ch
Madeleine & Jean-Yves Mabillard-Fuchs, Cave Mabillard Fuchs, 3973 Venthône, www.mabillard-fuchs.ch
Madeleine, Anne-Catherine & Denis Mercier, 3960 Sierre, www.mercier-vins.ch
Marie-Bernard Gillioz Praz, 1971 Grimisuat, www.mbgillioz.ch
Maurice Zufferey, Cave Maurice Zufferey, 3960 Muraz-sur-Sierre, www.mauricezufferey.ch
Olivier Mounir, Cave du Rhodan, 3970 Salgesch, www.rhodan.ch
Philippe Constantin, Cave St. Philippe, 3970 Salgesch, www.cave-st-philippe.ch
Philippe Darioli, 1920 Martigny, www.lesvinsduvalais.ch
Provins,    1950 Sion, www.provins.ch
Robert Taramarcaz, Domaine des Muses, 3960 Sierre, www.domainedesmuses.ch
Serge Roh, Cave Les Ruinettes, 1963 Vétroz, www.sergeroh.ch
St. Jodern Kellerei, 3932 Visperterminen, www.jodernkellerei.ch
Stéphane Reynard & Dany Varone, Domaine Cornulus, 1965 Savièse, www.cornulus.ch
Thierry Constantin, 1962 Pont-de-la-Morge, www.thierryconstantin.ch

        
Waadt / Vaud        
        
Alain Pelichet, Mon Pichet, 1173 Féchy, www.vins-pelichet.ch
Blaise Duboux, 1098 Epesses, www.blaiseduboux.ch
Charles Rolaz, Domaine Rolaz, 1180 Rolle, www.arte-vitis.ch
Christian Dugon, 1353 Bofflens, www.dugon.ch
Famille Cruchon, Domaine Henri Cruchon, 1112 Echichens, www.henricruchon.ch
François de Coulon, Château d’Eclépens, 1312 Eclépens, www.chateau-eclepe
Frères Dutruy, Domaine de la Treille, 1297 Founex, www.lesfreresdutruy.ch
Henri & Vincent Chollet, Domaine Mermetus, 1091 Aran-Villette, www.mermetus.ch
Jean-François Neyroud-Fonjallaz, 1803 Chardonne, www.neyroud.ch
Luc Massy, Clos du Boux, 1098 Epesses, www.massy-vins.ch
Marco & François Grognuz, Cave des Rois, 1844 Villeneuve, www.cavedesrois.ch
Noémie Graff, Domaine du Satyre, 1268 Begnins, www.lesatyre.ch
Philippe Gex, Domaine de la Pierre Latine, 1853 Yvorne, www.pierrelatine.ch
Pierre Monachon, Domaine Monachon-Cave de Derrey Jeu, 1071 Rivaz, www.domainemonachon.ch
Pierre-Luc Leyvraz, 1071 Chexbres, www.leyvraz-vins.ch
Rodrigo Banto, Uvavins - Cave de la Côte    1131 Tolochenaz, www.uvavins.com
Simon & Maude Vogel , Domaine Croix Duplex, 1091 Grandvaux, www.croix-duplex.ch
Violaine & Raymond Paccot, Domaine La Colombe, 1173 Féchy, www.lacolombe.ch

       
Genf / Genève / Ginevra / Geneva        
        
Émilienne & Jean Hutin, Domaine Les Hutins, 1283 Dardagny, www.domaineleshutins.ch
Jean-Michel Novelle, Le Grand Clos, 1242 Satigny, www.geneveterroir.ch
Laurent Villard, Domaine les Parcellesa, 1247 Anières, www.lesparcelles.ch
Nicolas Bonnet, Domaine de la Comtesse d’Eldegarde, 1242 Satigny, www.vins-geneve.ch
Philippe Villard, Domaine Villard & Fils, 1247 Anières, www.vins-geneve.ch
Stéphane Gros, 1283 Dardagny, www.stephane-gros.ch
 

      
Drei-Seen-Land / Trois Lacs / Tre Laghi / Three Lakes       
        
Louis-Philippe Burgat, Domaine de Chambleau, 2013 Colombier NE, www.chambleau.ch
Andreas Krebs, Weingut Andreas Krebs, 2513 Twann BE, www.weingut-krebs.ch
Grillette Domaine De Cressier, 2088 Cressier NE, www.grillette.ch
Jean-Denis Perrochet, Domaine de la Maison Carrée, 2012 Auvernier NE, www.lamaisoncarree.ch
Jean-Pierre Kuntzer, Domaine Saint Sébaste, 2072 Saint-Blaise NE, www.kuntzer.ch
Martin Hubacher, Johanniterkeller, 2513 Twann BE, www.johanniterkeller.ch
Marylène & Louis-Charles Bovard-Chervet, Château de Praz, 1788 Vully FR, www.chateaudepraz.
Sabine Steiner, Steiner Schernelz Village, 2514 Schernelz-Ligerz BE, www.schernelz-village.ch
Christian Vessaz, Cru de l’Hôpital    , 1787 Môtier-Vully FR, www.cru-hopital.ch

        
Deutschschweiz / Suisse alemanique / German Swiss        
        
Andreas Meier, Weingut zum Sternen, 5303 Würenlingen AG, www.weingut-sternen.ch
Annatina Pelizzatti, 7307 Jenins GR, www.pelizzatti-weine.ch
Christian & Francisca Obrecht, Weingut zur Sonne    , 7307 Jenins GR, www.obrecht.ch
Christian Hermann, 7306 Fläsch GR, www.hermann.ch
Daniel & Monika Marugg, Weingut Bovel, 7306 Fläsch GR, www.weingut-bovel.ch
Erich Meier, Weingut Erich Meier    8707 Uetikon am See ZH, www.erichmeier.ch
Georg Fromm, Weingut Georg Fromm, 7208 Malans GR, www.fromm-weine.ch
Hermann Schwarzenbach, Schwarzenbach Weinbau, 8706 Meilen ZH, www.reblaube.ch
Irene Grünenfelder, Weingut Eichholz, 7307 Jenins GR, www.eichholz-weine.ch
Jan Domenic Luzi, Weingut Sprecher von Bernegg, 7307 Jenins GR, www.sprechervonbernegg.ch
Johannes Meier, Schlossgut Bachtobel, Ottoberg, 8570 Weinfelden TG, www.bachtobel.ch
Markus Ruch, Weinbau Markus Ruch, 8213 Neunkirch SH , www.weinbauruch.ch
Matthias & Sina Gubler-Möhr, Möhr-Niggli Weine, 7304 Maienfeld GR, www.moehr-niggli.ch
Michael Broger Weinbau, 8561 Ottoberg TG, www.broger-weinbau.ch
Ruedi & Beatrice Baumann, Baumann Weingut, 8216 Oberhallau SH, www.baumannweingut.ch
Thomas Studach, 7208 Malans GR, www.weinbranche.ch
Tom Litwan, Litwan Wein, 5107 Schinznach Dorf AG, www.litwanwein.ch
Urs Jauslin, Jauslin Weine, 4132 Muttenz BL, www.jauslinweine.ch
Urs Pircher, Weingut Pircher, 8193 Eglisau ZH, www.weingut-pircher.ch
Willi, Christine & Michael Burkhart, Weingut Burkhart, 8570 Weinfelden TG, www.weingut-burkhart.ch

        
Ticino / Tessin        
        
Fratelli Corti, 6828 Balerna, www.fratellicorti.ch
Cantina Kopp von der Crone Visini, 6917 Barbengo, www.cantinabarbengo.ch
Cantina Monti, 6936 Cademario, www.cantinamonti.ch
Castello Luigi/Vinattieri Ticinesi, 6853 Ligornetto, www.zanini.ch
Enrico Trapletti, Tenuta Vitivinicola Trapletti, 6877 Coldrerio, www.ticinowine.ch
Eric Klausener, 6989 Purasca, www.klausener.blogspot.ch
Fattoria Moncucchetto, 6900 Lugano, www.moncucchetto.ch
Giorgio Rossi, Azienda Mondò, 6514 Sementina, www.aziendamondo.ch
Huber Vini SA, 6998 Monteggio, www.hubervini.ch
Mauro Ortelli, 6873 Corteglia, www.ortellimauro.com
Mike Rudolph, Tenuta San Giorgio, 6990 Cassina d'Agno, www.tenutasangiorgio.ch
Nicola & Raffaele Marcionetti, Cantina Settemaggio, 6513 Monte Carasso, www.settemaggio.ch
Ralph Theiler, Theilervini sa, 6935 Bosco Luganese, www.theilervini.ch
Sacha Pelossi, Pelossi Azienda Vitivinicola, 6912 Pazzallo,     www.ticinowine.ch
Tenuta Castello di Morcote, 6921 Vico Morcote, www.castellodimorcote.com
Gianfranco Chiesa, Vini Rovio SA, 6821 Rovio, www.vinirovio.ch
        
Icones / Ikonen  / Icons      
        
Jean-Pierre Pellegrin, Domaine Grand Cour (GE)        
Louis-Philippe Bovard, Domaine Louis Bovard (VD)        
Jacques Tatasciore, Domaine de Rochette (NE)        
Marie-Therrse Chappaz, Domaine de la Liaudisaz (VS)        
Martha et Daniel Gantenbein, Gantenbein Wein (GR)        
Feliciano Gialdi et Alfred de Martin, Gialdi Vini (TI)        
Axel & Jean-François Maye, Simon Maye et Fils Sàrl (VS)        
Thomas Donatsch, de Malans (GR)        
Christian Zuendel, de Beride (TI)        
        
Rookies 2018        

Valentina Andrei de Saillon (VS)        
Benjamin Morel de Valeyres-sur-Rances (VD)        
Pirmin Umbricht (AG)