Chasselas

Fendant, Perlant, Gutedel

You are here

Name: 
Chasselas
Other appellations: 
Fendant
Gutedel
Perlant
Color: 
 White
Ancientness: 
Indigenous
Origin: 
Switzerland
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatic: 
-
Producers listed: 
Wines listed: 
An icon for French-speaking Switzerland, Chasselas is a very old variety originating in the Lemanic Arc (north of Lake Geneva), where it was already known under the name of Fendant in the 17th century, in reference to its grapes that split easily in your fingers. The canton of Vaud gradually stopped using this variety's name in favour of appellations based on villages or vintages, so that since 1966 the name Fendant has been protected for the exclusive use of the Valais region, where the variety was introduced in 1848. A wonderful expression of the terroirs where it is grown, Chasselas or Fendant is the most common white grape variety in Switzerland, mainly grown in the cantons of Vaud, Valais, Geneva and Neuchâtel. Early and delicate both on the vine and in the cellar, Chasselas gives subtle and elegant wines, to be savoured as an apéritif or with a meal.

Some wineries that cultivate this grape

Contact us

About

Swiss Fine Wine is a comprehensive and multilingual website about the finest Swiss wineries and wines selected through the aggregated lists of experts. Joins us to discover, visit, taste, pair, Swiss wines in Switzerland or anywhere in the world.

This is a private initiative dedicated to promote, explain and discuss Swiss Fine Wines. We cater to the curiosity and needs of private individuals, wine amateurs, enthusiasts, professionals as well as companies such as restaurants, hotels and distributors who wish to learn more about fine Swiss wines.

Chasselas

Fendant, Perlant, Gutedel

Vous êtes ici

Nom: 
Chasselas
Autres appellations: 
Fendant
Gutedel
Perlant
Couleur: 
 Blancs
Ancienneté: 
Indigène
Origine: 
Suisse
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatique: 
-
Producteurs listés: 
Vins listés: 
Emblématique de la Suisse romande, le Chasselas est un très vieux cépage originaire de l'arc lémanique où il était déjà connu sous le nom de Fendant au 17ème siècle, en référence à ses baies qui se "fendent" sous la pression des doigts. Le canton de Vaud a petit à petit abandonné le nom du cépage au profit des appellations de villages ou de crus, si bien que depuis 1966 le nom de Fendant est protégé à usage exclusif pour le Valais, où le cépage a été introduit en 1848. Formidable révélateur de terroirs, le Chasselas ou Fendant est le cépage blanc le plus répandu de Suisse, cultivé principalement dans les cantons de Vaud, Valais, Genève et Neuchâtel. Précoce et délicat tant à la vigne qu'à la cave, le Chasselas donne des vins subtils et élégants, à savourer en apéritif comme en gastronomie.

Nous contacter

À propos

Swiss Fine Wine est un site complet et multilingue sur les meilleurs vignobles suisses et leurs vins sélectionnés par l’agrégation de listes d’experts. Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir, visiter, déguster, accorder, les vins fins suisses en Suisse ou partout dans le monde.

Nous sommes une initiative privée qui se consacre à promouvoir, expliquer et discuter les vins fins suisses. Notre site s’adresse aux particuliers, amateurs de vin, professionnels ainsi qu’aux entreprises comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les distributeurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les vins suisses.