Müller-Thurgau

Riesling Sylvaner

You are here

Name: 
Müller-Thurgau
Other appellations: 
Riesling Sylvaner
Color: 
 White
Ancientness: 
Foreign (after 1900)
Origin: 
Germany
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatic: 
-
Producers listed: 
Wines listed: 
For a long time wrongly considered to be an artificial cross between Riesling and Sylvaner created by the Swiss H. Müller in 1882 in Germany, DNA tests showed this heritage to be incorrect, and in 2000 revealed it was actually a cross of Riesling and Madeleine Royale. Despite everything, the name of Riesling x Sylvaner (or Riesling-Sylvaner) has been incorrectly retained in Switzerland, where this very early variety with abundant yields prone to fungal disease produces light, aromatic wines lacking in complexity.

Contact us

About

Swiss Fine Wine is a comprehensive and multilingual website about the finest Swiss wineries and wines selected through the aggregated lists of experts. Joins us to discover, visit, taste, pair, Swiss wines in Switzerland or anywhere in the world.

This is a private initiative dedicated to promote, explain and discuss Swiss Fine Wines. We cater to the curiosity and needs of private individuals, wine amateurs, enthusiasts, professionals as well as companies such as restaurants, hotels and distributors who wish to learn more about fine Swiss wines.

Müller-Thurgau

Riesling Sylvaner

Vous êtes ici

Nom: 
Müller-Thurgau
Autres appellations: 
Riesling Sylvaner
Couleur: 
 Blancs
Ancienneté: 
Allogène (après 1900)
Origine: 
Allemagne
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatique: 
-
Producteurs listés: 
Vins listés: 
Longtemps considéré à tort comme un croisement artificiel Riesling × Sylvaner obtenu par le Suisse H. Müller en 1882 en Allemagne, le test ADN a démenti cette parenté en montrant en 2000 qu'il s'agit en fait d'un Riesling × Madeleine Royale. Malgré tout, le nom de Riesling × Sylvaner (ou Riesling-Sylvaner) a été conservé à tort en Suisse, où ce cépage très précoce, aux rendements abondants et sensible aux maladies fongiques, donne des vins légers, aromatiques et peu complexes.

Des caves qui cultivent ce cépage

Nous contacter

À propos

Swiss Fine Wine est un site complet et multilingue sur les meilleurs vignobles suisses et leurs vins sélectionnés par l’agrégation de listes d’experts. Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir, visiter, déguster, accorder, les vins fins suisses en Suisse ou partout dans le monde.

Nous sommes une initiative privée qui se consacre à promouvoir, expliquer et discuter les vins fins suisses. Notre site s’adresse aux particuliers, amateurs de vin, professionnels ainsi qu’aux entreprises comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les distributeurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les vins suisses.