Cabernet Franc

You are here

Name: 
Cabernet Franc
Color: 
 Red
Ancientness: 
Foreign (after 1900)
Origin: 
Spain
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatic: 
-
Producers listed: 
Wines listed: 
Although it is one of the original varieties of the great wines of Bordeaux (F), the ancestral origins of Cabernet Franc are in the Spanish Basque Country. From there it expanded into Gironde, then to the Loire region, where it has become one of the most commonly grown red grapes. DNA tests have revealed that it is the direct genitor of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Carmenère. In Switzerland, this mid-season variety, resistant to fungal disease, is grown in particular in French-speaking Switzerland and in Ticino, where it produces wine with an aroma of violets, high in tannins, with more or less herbaceous notes depending on the yields.

Some wineries that cultivate this grape

Contact us

About

Swiss Fine Wine is a comprehensive and multilingual website about the finest Swiss wineries and wines selected through the aggregated lists of experts. Joins us to discover, visit, taste, pair, Swiss wines in Switzerland or anywhere in the world.

This is a private initiative dedicated to promote, explain and discuss Swiss Fine Wines. We cater to the curiosity and needs of private individuals, wine amateurs, enthusiasts, professionals as well as companies such as restaurants, hotels and distributors who wish to learn more about fine Swiss wines.

Cabernet Franc

Vous êtes ici

Nom: 
Cabernet Franc
Couleur: 
 Rouges
Ancienneté: 
Allogène (après 1900)
Origine: 
Espagne
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatique: 
-
Producteurs listés: 
Vins listés: 
Bien qu'étant un des cépages principaux des grands vins de Bordeaux (F), le Cabernet Franc trouve ses origines ancestrales dans le Pays Basque espagnol, d'où il a essaimé en Gironde, puis dans la Loire où il est devenu l'un des rouges les plus cultivés. Le test ADN a révélé qu'il est le géniteur du Cabernet Sauvignon, du Merlot et de la Carmenère. En Suisse, ce cépage de maturité moyenne et peu aux maladies fongiques est cultivé en particulier en Romandie et au Tessin, où il donne des vins aux arômes de violettes, marqués par les tannins avec des notes plus ou moins herbacées selon les rendements.

Des caves qui cultivent ce cépage

Nous contacter

À propos

Swiss Fine Wine est un site complet et multilingue sur les meilleurs vignobles suisses et leurs vins sélectionnés par l’agrégation de listes d’experts. Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir, visiter, déguster, accorder, les vins fins suisses en Suisse ou partout dans le monde.

Nous sommes une initiative privée qui se consacre à promouvoir, expliquer et discuter les vins fins suisses. Notre site s’adresse aux particuliers, amateurs de vin, professionnels ainsi qu’aux entreprises comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les distributeurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les vins suisses.