Gamay

You are here

Name: 
Gamay
Color: 
 Red
Ancientness: 
Traditional (prior 1900)
Origin: 
France
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatic: 
-
Producers listed: 
Wines listed: 
A natural cross of Pinot and Gouais Blanc, Gamay probably originated in Burgundy (F) where it was first recorded (and banned...) in 1395. Its ancestry means it is a full-sibling of Chardonnay, Aligoté, Melon and other less well known varieties, so it's easy to understand how for a long time it was confused with Pinot Noir, particularly in French-speaking Switzerland, where both were referred to as Dôle. Its name comes from the village of Gamay near Saint-Aubin in the Côte d'Or (Burgundy). An early variety which is prone to disease, its yield must be carefully managed on overly rich soils. In Switzerland, where an ancient biotype of it known as Plant Robert is found in Lavaux, it's an important variety which produces wines with notes of cherry and peony.

Contact us

About

Swiss Fine Wine is a comprehensive and multilingual website about the finest Swiss wineries and wines selected through the aggregated lists of experts. Joins us to discover, visit, taste, pair, Swiss wines in Switzerland or anywhere in the world.

This is a private initiative dedicated to promote, explain and discuss Swiss Fine Wines. We cater to the curiosity and needs of private individuals, wine amateurs, enthusiasts, professionals as well as companies such as restaurants, hotels and distributors who wish to learn more about fine Swiss wines.

Gamay

Vous êtes ici

Nom: 
Gamay
Couleur: 
 Rouges
Ancienneté: 
Traditionel (avant 1900)
Origine: 
France
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatique: 
-
Producteurs listés: 
Vins listés: 
Croisement naturel Pinot × Gouais Blanc, le Gamay est probablement né en Bourgogne (F) où il est déjà mentionné (et banni...) en 1395. Sa parenté en fait un frère du Chardonnay, de l'Aligoté, du Melon et d'autres cépages moins connus, et permet de comprendre pourquoi il a été longtemps confondu avec le Pinot Noir, en particulier en Suisse romande où les deux étaient nommés Dôle. Son nom vient du village Gamay près de Saint-Aubin en Côte d’Or (Bourgogne). Cépage précoce et sensible aux maladies, ses rendements doivent être maîtrisés sur les sols trop riches. En Suisse, où l'on en trouve un ancien biotype nommé Plant Robert dans le Lavaux, c'est un cépage important qui produit des vins aux notes de cerises rouges et de pivoine.

Des caves qui cultivent ce cépage

Nous contacter

À propos

Swiss Fine Wine est un site complet et multilingue sur les meilleurs vignobles suisses et leurs vins sélectionnés par l’agrégation de listes d’experts. Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir, visiter, déguster, accorder, les vins fins suisses en Suisse ou partout dans le monde.

Nous sommes une initiative privée qui se consacre à promouvoir, expliquer et discuter les vins fins suisses. Notre site s’adresse aux particuliers, amateurs de vin, professionnels ainsi qu’aux entreprises comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les distributeurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les vins suisses.