Mondeuse Noire

You are here

Name: 
Mondeuse Noire
Color: 
 Red
Ancientness: 
Traditional (prior 1900)
Origin: 
France
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatic: 
-
Producers listed: 
Wines listed: 
An old variety from Savoie (F), Mondeuse Noire takes its name from Maldoux, in reference to its high natural acidity. DNA tests have revealed a parent-offspring link to Mondeuse Blanche, which means Mondeuse is related to Syrah, and explains why it is often called Grosse Syrah. In Switzerland, Mondeuse Noire was widespread before the 19th century in the Lemanic Arc and in Valais under the name of Gros Rouge. This vigorous variety is prone to disease, but has recently been the subject of renewed interest, producing spicy wines with a marked tannin flavour.

Contact us

About

Swiss Fine Wine is a comprehensive and multilingual website about the finest Swiss wineries and wines selected through the aggregated lists of experts. Joins us to discover, visit, taste, pair, Swiss wines in Switzerland or anywhere in the world.

This is a private initiative dedicated to promote, explain and discuss Swiss Fine Wines. We cater to the curiosity and needs of private individuals, wine amateurs, enthusiasts, professionals as well as companies such as restaurants, hotels and distributors who wish to learn more about fine Swiss wines.

Mondeuse Noire

Vous êtes ici

Nom: 
Mondeuse Noire
Couleur: 
 Rouges
Ancienneté: 
Traditionel (avant 1900)
Origine: 
France
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatique: 
-
Producteurs listés: 
Vins listés: 
Vieux cépage de la Savoie (F), la Mondeuse Noire tiendrait son nom de Maldoux, en référence à son acidité naturelle élevée. Le test ADN a mis en évidence un lien parent-enfant avec la Mondeuse Blanche, ce qui place la Mondeuse comme la demi-sœur ou la grand-mère de la Syrah, et ce qui explique pourquoi elle est souvent appelée Grosse Syrah. En Suisse, la Mondeuse Noire était répandue avant le 19ème siècle sur l'arc lémanique et en Valais sous le nom de Gros Rouge. Ce cépage vigoureux et sensible au maladies y trouve aujourd'hui un regain d'intérêt et donne des vins épicés aux tannins marqués.

Nous contacter

À propos

Swiss Fine Wine est un site complet et multilingue sur les meilleurs vignobles suisses et leurs vins sélectionnés par l’agrégation de listes d’experts. Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir, visiter, déguster, accorder, les vins fins suisses en Suisse ou partout dans le monde.

Nous sommes une initiative privée qui se consacre à promouvoir, expliquer et discuter les vins fins suisses. Notre site s’adresse aux particuliers, amateurs de vin, professionnels ainsi qu’aux entreprises comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les distributeurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les vins suisses.