Sangiovese

You are here

Name: 
Sangiovese
Color: 
 Red
Ancientness: 
Foreign (after 1900)
Origin: 
Italy
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatic: 
-
Wines listed: 
The most widely cultivated red grape variety in Italy, there are records of Sangiovese dating back to 1600 in Tuscany. Its name may derive from the blood of Jupiter (sanguis Jovis). DNA has revealed that it's a natural cross between Ciliegiolo, an old variety of Chianti, and Calabrese di Montenuovo, a rare variety from Calabria. Sangiovese is thus Tuscan-Calabrian. In Switzerland, there are only a few traces left of this very late-ripening variety which is highly resistant to dryness. Its wines are high in tannins and acidity, getting better with age.

Contact us

About

Swiss Fine Wine is a comprehensive and multilingual website about the finest Swiss wineries and wines selected through the aggregated lists of experts. Joins us to discover, visit, taste, pair, Swiss wines in Switzerland or anywhere in the world.

This is a private initiative dedicated to promote, explain and discuss Swiss Fine Wines. We cater to the curiosity and needs of private individuals, wine amateurs, enthusiasts, professionals as well as companies such as restaurants, hotels and distributors who wish to learn more about fine Swiss wines.

Sangiovese

Vous êtes ici

Nom: 
Sangiovese
Couleur: 
 Rouges
Ancienneté: 
Allogène (après 1900)
Origine: 
Italie
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatique: 
-
Vins listés: 
Cépage rouge le plus répandu d'Italie, le Sangiovese était déjà mentionné en 1600 en Toscane. Son nom dériverait du sang de Jupiter (sanguis Jovis). L'ADN a révélé qu'il s'agit d'un croisement naturel entre le Ciliegiolo, vieux cépage du Chianti, et le Calabrese di Montenuovo, un cépage rare de Calabre. Le Sangiovese est donc toscano-calabrais. En Suisse, on ne trouve que quelques traces de ce cépage très tardif et résistant à la sécheresse. Ses vins sont très tanniques et hauts en acidité, bénéficiant d'une longue garde.

Nous contacter

À propos

Swiss Fine Wine est un site complet et multilingue sur les meilleurs vignobles suisses et leurs vins sélectionnés par l’agrégation de listes d’experts. Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir, visiter, déguster, accorder, les vins fins suisses en Suisse ou partout dans le monde.

Nous sommes une initiative privée qui se consacre à promouvoir, expliquer et discuter les vins fins suisses. Notre site s’adresse aux particuliers, amateurs de vin, professionnels ainsi qu’aux entreprises comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les distributeurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les vins suisses.