Valais

You are here

 
The vineyards of Valais account for a third of the total wine-production in Switzerland. They extend over a hundred kilometres along the river Rhône. Their well-exposed slopes stretch from the east village of Salquenen to the western city of Martigny. The vineyards sometimes deeply penetrate the lateral valleys; such is the case of Visperterminen at an altitude of 1100 meters and ranks among the highest in Europe. The favourable, sunny and dry climate, as well as the diversity of soils, account for the amazing richness of unique wines that the Valais produces from a wide range of grape varieties. As well as the astonishing and robust reds, originating from indigenous grape varieties, one can also find the noble and delicate Pinot Noir wines, the principal variety in the famous Dôle blend. The range of white wines goes from the light and delicate Fendant to specialities, such as the full and complex late-harvest wines. The canton of Valais really is a paradise for the wine-lovers, who wish to make new discoveries and to have the most diverse experiences. Protected by the barrier of the Alps, the canton of Valais has by far the driest climate of all of the Swiss wine-producing regions. The foehn, a warm wind that accelerates the grapes' maturation, is also an important climatic factor. The great diversity of soils in Valais is due to the combination of geological upheavals, receding glaciers and alluvial deposits of the Rhône and the Alps' torrents.
Sub-regions: 
Central Valais
Lower Valais
Upper Valais
Producers identified: 
600
Producers listed: 
Wines listed: 
Average temperature
Annual: 
10.1°C
January: 
-0.1°C
July: 
20.1°C
Sun exposure: 
2093 h/year
Annual rainfall: 
603 mm
Rainy days: 
82
Regional weight: 
33.4%
Cultivated area: 
12291 acres
Planted white: 
4658 acres
Planted red: 
7632 acres
Number of varieties: 
60
Main varieties: 
Amigne
Arvine
Chasselas
Savagnin Blanc
Sylvaner
Cornalin
Gamay
Humagne Red
Pinot Noir
Syrah
Topography: 
Highest: 
1100 m
Lowest: 
390 m
Soils: 
Alluvium
Granite
Gravel
Limestone
Schist
Stones

Contact us

About

Swiss Fine Wine is a comprehensive and multilingual website about the finest Swiss wineries and wines selected through the aggregated lists of experts. Joins us to discover, visit, taste, pair, Swiss wines in Switzerland or anywhere in the world.

This is a private initiative dedicated to promote, explain and discuss Swiss Fine Wines. We cater to the curiosity and needs of private individuals, wine amateurs, enthusiasts, professionals as well as companies such as restaurants, hotels and distributors who wish to learn more about fine Swiss wines.

Valais

Vous êtes ici

 
Les vignobles du Valais contribuent pour un tiers à la production totale helvétique. Sur plus de cent kilomètres, ils s'étirent le long du Rhône. Leurs pentes bien exposées s'étendent sans discontinuer des communes de Salquenen à l’Est jusqu’à Martigny à l’Ouest. Les vignobles pénètrent parfois profondément les vallées latérales, ainsi celui de Visperterminen à 1100 mètres compte parmi les plus élevés d'Europe. Le climat favorable, sec et ensoleillé, et la diversité des sols, qui varient d'un parchet à l'autre, produit en Valais une étonnante richesse de vins singuliers, issus d'une multitude de cépages. Aux étonnants vins rouges robustes, issus de cépages indigènes, s'ajoutent les nobles et fins Pinots Noirs, principal cépage des assemblages de la célèbre Dôle. La gamme des vins blancs s'étend du Chasselas (ou Fendant), fin et léger, aux spécialités telles que les vins flétris, pleins et complexes. Le Valais est un paradis pour les amateurs de vins désireux d'aller à la découverte des expériences les plus variées. Protégé par la barrière des Alpes, le Valais a de loin le climat le plus sec de toutes les régions viticoles suisses. Le fœhn, un vent chaud qui précipite la maturation, est également un facteur climatique important. La grande diversité des sols est due aux bouleversements géologiques, aux glaciers en retrait et aux dépôts alluvionnaires du Rhône et des torrents des Alpes.
Sous-régions: 
Bas Valais
Haut Valais
Valais central
Etablissements recensés: 
600
Producteurs listés: 
Vins listés: 
Températures moyennes
Annuelle: 
10.1°C
janvier: 
-0.1°C
juillet: 
20.1°C
Ensoleillement: 
2093 h/an
Précipitations annuelle: 
603 mm
Jours de pluie: 
82
Poids de la région: 
33.4%
Surface cultivée: 
4976 hectares
Cultivé en blanc: 
1886 hectares
Cultivé en rouge: 
3090 hectares
Nombre de cépages: 
60
Cépages principaux: 
Amigne
Arvine
Chasselas
Savagnin Blanc
Sylvaner
Cornalin
Gamay
Humagne Rouge
Pinot Noir
Syrah
Topographie: 
Au plus haut: 
1100 m
Au plus bas: 
390 m
Sols: 
Alluvions
Granite
Gravier
Calcaire
Schistes
Pierres

Nous contacter

À propos

Swiss Fine Wine est un site complet et multilingue sur les meilleurs vignobles suisses et leurs vins sélectionnés par l’agrégation de listes d’experts. Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir, visiter, déguster, accorder, les vins fins suisses en Suisse ou partout dans le monde.

Nous sommes une initiative privée qui se consacre à promouvoir, expliquer et discuter les vins fins suisses. Notre site s’adresse aux particuliers, amateurs de vin, professionnels ainsi qu’aux entreprises comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les distributeurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les vins suisses.