German Swiss

You are here

 
Oriental Switzerland is the whole of the 17 wine-producing cantons from the German-speaking part of Switzerland. Its vineyards fall into three areas: the western region with Basel and the canton of Aargau; the central region with Zurich, Schaffhausen and the canton of Thurgau; and the eastern region with the cantons of Graubünden and St. Gallen. Here the red grape varieties are the dominant ones. One quarter of the vineyard is planted with Pinot Noir (locally called Blauburgunder), which gives amazing well-nuanced red wines. The white grape varieties, which are predominated by the Müller-Thurgau (still called Riesling-Sylvaner in Switzerland), only cover 25% of the wine-growing surface. Given the climatic conditions of German Switzerland, that are rather northern ones, the number of grape varieties reaching maturity is quite limited. Fortunately, there are other factors creating microclimates, which are favourable to the vines, such as the lakes, the rivers, the foehn (a warm wind) or the advantageous exposition of the vineyards. Rainfall varies considerably from one zone to the other, and the risks of frost in spring and in autumn are quite important. The composition of soils is extremely diverse in this region, which spread from the Jura to the Alps and which includes important basins created by water flows.
Sub-regions: 
Aargau
Basel
Bern (city)
Graubünden
Lucerne
Saint Gallen
Schaffhausen
Thurgau
Zurich
other
Producers identified: 
310
Producers listed: 
Wines listed: 
Average temperature
Annual: 
9.5°C
January: 
0.3°C
July: 
19°C
Sun exposure: 
1595 h/year
Annual rainfall: 
1390 mm
Rainy days: 
138
Regional weight: 
19.2%
Cultivated area: 
7044 acres
Planted white: 
2156 acres
Planted red: 
4888 acres
Number of varieties: 
61
Main varieties: 
Chasselas
Completer
Müller-Thurgau
Räuschling
Pinot Noir
Topography: 
Highest: 
600 m
Lowest: 
270 m
Soils: 
Alluvium
Clay
Limestone
Sand
Stones

Contact us

About

Swiss Fine Wine is a comprehensive and multilingual website about the finest Swiss wineries and wines selected through the aggregated lists of experts. Joins us to discover, visit, taste, pair, Swiss wines in Switzerland or anywhere in the world.

This is a private initiative dedicated to promote, explain and discuss Swiss Fine Wines. We cater to the curiosity and needs of private individuals, wine amateurs, enthusiasts, professionals as well as companies such as restaurants, hotels and distributors who wish to learn more about fine Swiss wines.

Suisse alémanique

Vous êtes ici

 
On entend par Suisse orientale (ou alémanique) l'ensemble des dix-sept cantons viticoles de la Suisse alémanique dont les vignobles se regroupent en trois régions: la région occidentale avec Bâle et l'Argovie, la région centrale avec Zurich, Schaffhouse et la Thurgovie, et la région orientale avec les cantons des Grisons et de Saint-Gall. Ici les cépages rouges dominent. Un quart du vignoble est planté de Pinot Noir (appelé localement Blauburgunder) qui produit d'étonnants vins rouges fort nuancés. Les cépages blancs, au sein desquels prédomine le Müller-Thurgau (que l'on appelle encore en Suisse Riesling X Sylvaner), ne couvrent que 25 pour cent de la surface viticole. Parmi les spécialités de la Suisse alémanique, mentionnons le Räuschling, le Gewürztraminer et le Pinot Gris. Vu les conditions climatiques plutôt septentrionales qui règnent en Suisse alémanique, le nombre de cépages arrivant à maturité reste limité. Il y a heureusement d'autres facteurs créant des microclimats favorables à la vigne, tels les lacs, les fleuves et rivières, le fœhn ou bien l'exposition avantageuse des vignobles. Les précipitations varient considérablement d'une zone à l'autre, et les risques de gels de printemps et d'automne sont grands. La composition des sols dans cette région est très diverse car très étendue entre le Jura et les Alpes. Le relief a été façonné par de nombreux cours d’eau.
Sous-régions: 
Argovie
Berne (ville)
Bâle
Grisons
Lucerne
Saint Gall
Schaffhouse
Thurgovie
Zurich
autre
Etablissements recensés: 
310
Producteurs listés: 
Vins listés: 
Températures moyennes
Annuelle: 
9.5°C
janvier: 
0.3°C
juillet: 
19°C
Ensoleillement: 
1595 h/an
Précipitations annuelle: 
1390 mm
Jours de pluie: 
138
Poids de la région: 
19.2%
Surface cultivée: 
2852 hectares
Cultivé en blanc: 
873 hectares
Cultivé en rouge: 
1979 hectares
Nombre de cépages: 
61
Cépages principaux: 
Chasselas
Completer
Müller-Thurgau
Räuschling
Pinot Noir
Topographie: 
Au plus haut: 
600 m
Au plus bas: 
270 m
Sols: 
Alluvions
Argile
Calcaire
Sable
Pierres

Nous contacter

À propos

Swiss Fine Wine est un site complet et multilingue sur les meilleurs vignobles suisses et leurs vins sélectionnés par l’agrégation de listes d’experts. Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir, visiter, déguster, accorder, les vins fins suisses en Suisse ou partout dans le monde.

Nous sommes une initiative privée qui se consacre à promouvoir, expliquer et discuter les vins fins suisses. Notre site s’adresse aux particuliers, amateurs de vin, professionnels ainsi qu’aux entreprises comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les distributeurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les vins suisses.