Ticino

You are here

 
On the south side of the Alps, the Italian-speaking Ticino enjoys a sunny climate that is influenced by the Mediterranean Sea. The Monte Ceneri divides Ticino into two zones: the Sopraceneri (Bellinzona) in the north, where one can still see vines growing on pergolas, and the Sottoceneri (Lugano) in the south. Traditionally, Ticino's vineyards are scattered in small parcels, and winegrowers generally vinify their harvests together, in order to guarantee the requested quality standards. Almost 90% of the vineyards in Ticino are planted with Merlot, which can truly be a rival to the red wines from the Bordeaux region, when it enjoys a favourable situation and is well vinified. The Merlot Bianco, an elegant white wine that is gaining in popularity, also comes from this same grape variety. The Merlot, originally from the Bordeaux region, made itself at home in Ticino, where it now produces distinguished wines. The climate's mildness and the well-exposed sunny slopes offer the best conditions to produce exceptional wines. The canton of Ticino is located still quite far from the sea, but its climate is nevertheless greatly influenced by the Mediterranean, which thus distinguishes it greatly from the other regions of Switzerland. The impressive number of sunshine hours and the high average temperatures favour the good maturing of the grapes. The plentiful rainfall, although they can be a blessing, may also bring dangerous hailstorms.
Sub-regions: 
Mesolcina (GR)
Sopraceneri (North)
Sottoceneri (South)
Producers identified: 
130
Producers listed: 
Wines listed: 
Average temperature
Annual: 
12.4°C
January: 
3.3°C
July: 
22.1°C
Sun exposure: 
2069 h/year
Annual rainfall: 
1559 mm
Rainy days: 
98
Regional weight: 
7.4%
Cultivated area: 
2729 acres
Planted white: 
227 acres
Planted red: 
2502 acres
Number of varieties: 
56
Main varieties: 
Bondola
Merlot
Topography: 
Highest: 
560 m
Lowest: 
270 m
Soils: 
Clay
Granite
Limestone
Sand

Contact us

About

Swiss Fine Wine is a comprehensive and multilingual website about the finest Swiss wineries and wines selected through the aggregated lists of experts. Joins us to discover, visit, taste, pair, Swiss wines in Switzerland or anywhere in the world.

This is a private initiative dedicated to promote, explain and discuss Swiss Fine Wines. We cater to the curiosity and needs of private individuals, wine amateurs, enthusiasts, professionals as well as companies such as restaurants, hotels and distributors who wish to learn more about fine Swiss wines.

Tessin

Vous êtes ici

 
Sur le versant sud des Alpes, la région du Tessin, de langue italienne, bénéficie d'un climat ensoleillé influencé par la Méditerranée. Le Tessin est divisé par le Monte Ceneri en deux régions: le Sopraceneri (Bellinzone) au nord où l'on trouve encore des vignes en pergolas, et le Sottoceneri (Lugano) au sud. Les vignobles tessinois se trouvent traditionnellement éparpillés, en petites parcelles, et les vignerons vinifient généralement leur vendange en commun afin de garantir ainsi le niveau de qualité requis. Près de 90 pour cent du vignoble tessinois sont plantés de Merlot qui, quand il jouit d'une situation favorable et qu'il est vinifié dans les règles de l'art, s'érige en véritable concurrent des vins rouges du Bordelais. Le Merlot Bianco, un vin blanc élégant qui gagne de plus en plus d'adeptes, provient également du même cépage. Le Merlot, originaire du Bordelais, a trouvé une deuxième patrie au Tessin où il produit des vins distingués. La douceur du climat et des coteaux bien ensoleillés offrent les meilleures conditions pour produire des vins exceptionnels. Le Tessin est situé encore loin de la mer, mais son climat est fortement influencé par la Méditerranée et se distingue ainsi des autres régions de la Suisse. Le nombre impressionnant d'heures d'ensoleillement et les températures moyennes élevées favorisent la bonne maturation des raisins. Les précipitations abondantes (qui peuvent être bénéfiques) représentent aussi un risque de grêle important.
Sous-régions: 
Mesolcina (GR)
Sopraceneri (Nord)
Sottoceneri (Sud)
Etablissements recensés: 
130
Producteurs listés: 
Vins listés: 
Températures moyennes
Annuelle: 
12.4°C
janvier: 
3.3°C
juillet: 
22.1°C
Ensoleillement: 
2069 h/an
Précipitations annuelle: 
1559 mm
Jours de pluie: 
98
Poids de la région: 
7.4%
Surface cultivée: 
1105 hectares
Cultivé en blanc: 
92 hectares
Cultivé en rouge: 
1013 hectares
Nombre de cépages: 
56
Cépages principaux: 
Bondola
Merlot
Topographie: 
Au plus haut: 
560 m
Au plus bas: 
270 m
Sols: 
Argile
Granite
Calcaire
Sable

Nous contacter

À propos

Swiss Fine Wine est un site complet et multilingue sur les meilleurs vignobles suisses et leurs vins sélectionnés par l’agrégation de listes d’experts. Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir, visiter, déguster, accorder, les vins fins suisses en Suisse ou partout dans le monde.

Nous sommes une initiative privée qui se consacre à promouvoir, expliquer et discuter les vins fins suisses. Notre site s’adresse aux particuliers, amateurs de vin, professionnels ainsi qu’aux entreprises comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les distributeurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les vins suisses.