Humagne (white)

You are here

Name: 
Humagne (white)
Color: 
 White
Ancientness: 
Indigenous
Origin: 
Switzerland
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatic: 
-
Producers listed: 
Wines listed: 
Humagne Blanche was recorded in Valais (Switzerland) in a parchment dated to 1313 alongside Rèze, making it one of the oldest varieties in Europe. DNA tests have shown that Lafnetscha and Himbertscha are offsprings from it, and that its ancestral origins may lie in the Atlantic Pyrénées (F). Its name could derive from the Greek hylomaneus, meaning blooming. Genetically, it has no connection with Humagne Rouge. A late-ripening and vigorous variety, Humagne Blanche was one of the most widespread varieties in Valais until the 19th century. Its wines are delicate and elegant, with notes of hazelnuts, and hints of resin as it ages.

Some wineries that cultivate this grape

Contact us

About

Swiss Fine Wine is a comprehensive and multilingual website about the finest Swiss wineries and wines selected through the aggregated lists of experts. Joins us to discover, visit, taste, pair, Swiss wines in Switzerland or anywhere in the world.

This is a private initiative dedicated to promote, explain and discuss Swiss Fine Wines. We cater to the curiosity and needs of private individuals, wine amateurs, enthusiasts, professionals as well as companies such as restaurants, hotels and distributors who wish to learn more about fine Swiss wines.

Humagne (blanc)

Vous êtes ici

Nom: 
Humagne (blanc)
Couleur: 
 Blancs
Ancienneté: 
Indigène
Origine: 
Suisse
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatique: 
-
Producteurs listés: 
Vins listés: 
L'Humagne Blanc a été mentionné en Valais (Suisse) dans un parchemin en 1313 aux côtés de la Rèze, ce qui en fait un des plus anciens cépages d'Europe. Le test ADN a montré qu'il est le parent du Lafnetscha et du Himbertscha, et qu'il pourrait avoir des origines ancestrales dans les Pyrénées-Atlantiques (F). Son nom dériverait du grec hylomaneus=foisonnant. Il n'a génétiquement rien à voir avec l'Humagne Rouge. Cépage tardif et vigoureux, l'Humagne Blanc était l'un des cépages les plus répandus en Valais jusqu'au 19ème siècle. Ses vins sont délicats, élégants, avec des notes de noisettes, tirant sur la résine avec l'âge.

Des caves qui cultivent ce cépage

Nous contacter

À propos

Swiss Fine Wine est un site complet et multilingue sur les meilleurs vignobles suisses et leurs vins sélectionnés par l’agrégation de listes d’experts. Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir, visiter, déguster, accorder, les vins fins suisses en Suisse ou partout dans le monde.

Nous sommes une initiative privée qui se consacre à promouvoir, expliquer et discuter les vins fins suisses. Notre site s’adresse aux particuliers, amateurs de vin, professionnels ainsi qu’aux entreprises comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les distributeurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les vins suisses.