Sauvignon Blanc

You are here

Name: 
Sauvignon Blanc
Color: 
 White
Ancientness: 
Foreign (after 1900)
Origin: 
France
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatic: 
-
Producers listed: 
Wines listed: 
Originating from the Loire Valley, where it is recorded under its old name Fiers in 1534 in Rabelais' "Gargantua", Sauvignon takes its name from the wild vine with similar leaves. DNA tests reveal it to be a progeny of Savagnin Blanc, known as Heida in Valais, a full-sibling of Chenin Blanc in the Loire, and a parent of Cabernet Sauvignon through a natural cross with Cabernet Franc. In Switzerland, this very vigorous mid-season variety prone to grey mould is grown in practically all cantons, where it gives highly acidic wines, with a marked aroma of gooseberry and blackcurrant buds.

Contact us

About

Swiss Fine Wine is a comprehensive and multilingual website about the finest Swiss wineries and wines selected through the aggregated lists of experts. Joins us to discover, visit, taste, pair, Swiss wines in Switzerland or anywhere in the world.

This is a private initiative dedicated to promote, explain and discuss Swiss Fine Wines. We cater to the curiosity and needs of private individuals, wine amateurs, enthusiasts, professionals as well as companies such as restaurants, hotels and distributors who wish to learn more about fine Swiss wines.

Sauvignon Blanc

Vous êtes ici

Nom: 
Sauvignon Blanc
Couleur: 
 Blancs
Ancienneté: 
Allogène (après 1900)
Origine: 
France
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatique: 
-
Producteurs listés: 
Vins listés: 
Originaire du Val de Loire où il est mentionné sous son vieux nom de Fiers en 1534 dans le Gargantua de Rabelais, le Sauvignon tire son nom de la vigne sauvage dont les feuilles sont similaires. Le test ADN a révélé que c'est un enfant du Savagnin Blanc, appelé Heida en Valais, un frère du Chenin Blanc de la Loire, et un géniteur du Cabernet Sauvignon par croisement naturel avec le Cabernet Franc. En Suisse, ce cépage de précocité moyenne, très vigoureux et sensible à la pourriture grise, est cultivé pratiquement dans tous les cantons, où il donne des vins hauts en acidité, marqués par des arômes de groseille et de bourgeon de cassis.

Des caves qui cultivent ce cépage

Nous contacter

À propos

Swiss Fine Wine est un site complet et multilingue sur les meilleurs vignobles suisses et leurs vins sélectionnés par l’agrégation de listes d’experts. Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir, visiter, déguster, accorder, les vins fins suisses en Suisse ou partout dans le monde.

Nous sommes une initiative privée qui se consacre à promouvoir, expliquer et discuter les vins fins suisses. Notre site s’adresse aux particuliers, amateurs de vin, professionnels ainsi qu’aux entreprises comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les distributeurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les vins suisses.