Syrah

You are here

Name: 
Syrah
Color: 
 Red
Ancientness: 
Foreign (after 1900)
Origin: 
Syria
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatic: 
-
Producers listed: 
Wines listed: 
Originating in Isère (F) from a natural cross between Dureza from Ardèche and Mondeuse Blanche from Savoie, Syrah gets its name from the Latin serus (meaning late), in reference to its late ripening. Recorded in 1781 in the Hermitage vineyard in the Rhone valley, it was introduced from there to Valais (Switzerland) in 1921, at the Domaine de l'Etat in Leytron. Most of the vines are still found in Valais, where Syrah produces wines of international stature that are spicy, with a note of blond tobacco, a silky flavour and great volume.

Some wineries that cultivate this grape

Contact us

About

Swiss Fine Wine is a comprehensive and multilingual website about the finest Swiss wineries and wines selected through the aggregated lists of experts. Joins us to discover, visit, taste, pair, Swiss wines in Switzerland or anywhere in the world.

This is a private initiative dedicated to promote, explain and discuss Swiss Fine Wines. We cater to the curiosity and needs of private individuals, wine amateurs, enthusiasts, professionals as well as companies such as restaurants, hotels and distributors who wish to learn more about fine Swiss wines.

Syrah

Vous êtes ici

Nom: 
Syrah
Couleur: 
 Rouges
Ancienneté: 
Allogène (après 1900)
Origine: 
Syrie
Viticulture: 
-
Aromatique: 
-
Producteurs listés: 
Vins listés: 
Née en Isère (F) d'un croisement naturel entre la Dureza d'Ardèche et la Mondeuse Blanche de Savoie, la Syrah tire son nom du latin serus (tardif), en référence à sa maturité. Citée en 1781 dans le vignoble de l'’Hermitage en Vallée du Rhône, c'est de là qu'elle a été introduite en Valais (Suisse) en 1921 au Domaine de l'’Etat à Leytron. La majorité des vignes se trouvent encore aujourd'hui en Valais où la Syrah donne des vins de stature internationale sur les épices, le tabac blond, avec une bouche soyeuse et un grand volume.

Nous contacter

À propos

Swiss Fine Wine est un site complet et multilingue sur les meilleurs vignobles suisses et leurs vins sélectionnés par l’agrégation de listes d’experts. Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir, visiter, déguster, accorder, les vins fins suisses en Suisse ou partout dans le monde.

Nous sommes une initiative privée qui se consacre à promouvoir, expliquer et discuter les vins fins suisses. Notre site s’adresse aux particuliers, amateurs de vin, professionnels ainsi qu’aux entreprises comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les distributeurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les vins suisses.