Geneva

You are here

 
Geneva is Switzerland's third wine-producing canton and it has the country's stronger wine-making density. The hills around the western end of the Lake of Geneva favour a very diverse production and allow the use of the most modern wine-producing techniques. Although the Chasselas still dominates the white vines, Geneva's winegrowers have won great successes at international wine competitions with classic grape varieties, such as the Chardonnay. Among the red vines, the Gamay dominates with excellent, well-structured wines. However, the Pinot Noir and other red varieties are taking more and more importance. The very near Jura and the pre-Alps, which divert the clouds coming from the west, influence Geneva’s climate. Particular microclimates also provide favourable conditions for wine-cultivation: the slopes near the Lake of Geneva are less sensitive to spring frosts, and the well-exposed hillcrests get rapidly warmer in the morning. Geneva's vineyards possess a great variety of soil compositions, from moraine to alluvial deposits left by its two rivers, the Rhône and the Arve. The Chasselas grapes transform these soils into a variety of unique and delicate bouquets.
Sub-regions: 
Between Arve and Rhône
Geneva
Left bank (Arve - Lac)
Right bank (Mandement)
Unused
Producers identified: 
170
Producers listed: 
Wines listed: 
Average temperature
Annual: 
10.5°C
January: 
1.5°C
July: 
20.2°C
Sun exposure: 
1828 h/year
Annual rainfall: 
1005 mm
Rainy days: 
109
Regional weight: 
9.6%
Cultivated area: 
3544 acres
Planted white: 
1554 acres
Planted red: 
1991 acres
Number of varieties: 
55
Main varieties: 
Chardonnay
Chasselas
Gamaret
Gamay
Garanoir
Pinot Noir
Topography: 
Highest: 
510 m
Lowest: 
370 m
Soils: 
Alluvium
Clay
Gravel
Limestone
Sand

Contact us

About

Swiss Fine Wine is a comprehensive and multilingual website about the finest Swiss wineries and wines selected through the aggregated lists of experts. Joins us to discover, visit, taste, pair, Swiss wines in Switzerland or anywhere in the world.

This is a private initiative dedicated to promote, explain and discuss Swiss Fine Wines. We cater to the curiosity and needs of private individuals, wine amateurs, enthusiasts, professionals as well as companies such as restaurants, hotels and distributors who wish to learn more about fine Swiss wines.

Genève

Vous êtes ici

 
Genève est le troisième canton viticole suisse et possède la densité viticole la plus forte du pays. Les collines entourant l'ouest du lac Léman se prêtent à une production très variée et à la mise en service des techniques viticoles les plus modernes. Bien que le Chasselas reste le cépage blanc dominant, les vignerons genevois ont remporté de grands succès, lors des manifestations viticoles internationales, avec des vins de cépages classiques comme le Chardonnay. Parmi les vins rouges, le Gamay tient la première place avec d'excellents vins, fort bien structurés. Cependant le Pinot Noir comme d’autres cépages rouges gagnent du terrain. Le climat de la région de Genève est influencé par le Jura et les Préalpes tout proches qui détournent les nuages venant de l'ouest. Les microclimats particuliers créent également des conditions favorables à la viticulture: les pentes près du lac Léman sont moins sensibles aux gels de printemps et les hauteurs des coteaux bien exposés se réchauffent vite le matin. Les vignobles genevois présentent des sols très divers: des sols morainiques tout comme des alluvions sur les rives du Rhône et de l'Arve. Les raisins du Chasselas transforment ces variations du sol en des vins aux bouquets uniques et délicats.
Sous-régions: 
Entre Arve et Rhône
Geneva
Non utilisé
Rive droite (Mandement)
Rive gauche (Arve - Lac)
Etablissements recensés: 
170
Producteurs listés: 
Vins listés: 
Températures moyennes
Annuelle: 
10.5°C
janvier: 
1.5°C
juillet: 
20.2°C
Ensoleillement: 
1828 h/an
Précipitations annuelle: 
1005 mm
Jours de pluie: 
109
Poids de la région: 
9.6%
Surface cultivée: 
1435 hectares
Cultivé en blanc: 
629 hectares
Cultivé en rouge: 
806 hectares
Nombre de cépages: 
55
Cépages principaux: 
Chardonnay
Chasselas
Gamaret
Gamay
Garanoir
Pinot Noir
Topographie: 
Au plus haut: 
510 m
Au plus bas: 
370 m
Sols: 
Alluvions
Argile
Gravier
Calcaire
Sable

Nous contacter

À propos

Swiss Fine Wine est un site complet et multilingue sur les meilleurs vignobles suisses et leurs vins sélectionnés par l’agrégation de listes d’experts. Rejoignez-nous pour découvrir, visiter, déguster, accorder, les vins fins suisses en Suisse ou partout dans le monde.

Nous sommes une initiative privée qui se consacre à promouvoir, expliquer et discuter les vins fins suisses. Notre site s’adresse aux particuliers, amateurs de vin, professionnels ainsi qu’aux entreprises comme les restaurants, les hôtels et les distributeurs qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur les vins suisses.